Site Map Skip to navigation Skip to main content

Resources & Guidelines


The Coalition of Persons with Disabilities – NL, in partnership with the Disability Policy Office – Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, has created this interactive website to promote and increase awareness of universal design in our communities.

A Universal Design Taskforce of professionals from government, business, industry and community organizations was formed in 2016 to collaborate, share best practices and develop helpful resources for Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. Their collaboration has been vital to this process.

Members of the Universal Design Taskforce NL are:

Emily Christy, Executive Director, Coalition of Persons with Disabilities – NL 

Nancy Reid, Manager of Strategic Initiatives, Coalition of Persons with Disabilities – NL 

Jennifer Barnable, Research and Communications Coordinator, Coalition of Persons with Disabilities – NL 

Catherine Shortall, Program Policy Development Specialist, Disability Policy Office

Phillip Strong, Policy Analyst, Disability Policy Office 

Grant Genova, Architect, Chair, Universal Design Network NL 

Colleen O’Keefe, Director, Engineering, NL Housing Corporation

Craig Pollett, CEO, Municipalities NL

David Brockerville, Manager of Engineering Services, Service NL, Government of NL 

Dave Dewling, Architect, Municipal Infrastructure, Municipal Affairs, Government of NL

Shelley DiNur, Occupational Therapist 

Richard Kennedy, Broker, Hanlon Realty

Sheldon Colbourne, President, Canadian Home Builders Association (CHBA-NL) and Erco Homes

Paula Corcoran-Jacobs, Executive Director, CHANNAL


Return to beginning of website